Home Page

Governing Body

Welcome from the Chair of Governors


On behalf of the governors, I’d like to extend a warm welcome to St Bede Church of England Primary School.


St Bede is a thriving, happy and outstanding school in the heart of Winchester. The governors, staff, parents and pupils are justifiably proud of our school, the high standards and progress our children achieve and our close links with the local community and our local churches.


The governing body works closely with our Headteacher Sarah Duck and the senior leadership team to make sure that the school’s standards and expectations remain high, and that all our children develop into well-rounded young people ready to move on to the next phase of their education. 


Governors are not responsible for the day to day management of the school, but help set its long term vision, direction and ethos. We are responsible for the budget and ensuring that the school gets good value for money, we monitor and help set academic standards, we are involved in staff appointments and we offer support and challenge to the senior leadership team as they build on the school’s past achievements.


Above all, we never forget that our pupils’ safety, wellbeing and education comes first.


We are fortunate to have a hard-working and dedicated staff at St Bede who deliver an enriched and creative curriculum that gives every child the opportunity to reach his or her full potential. 


We also have incredibly supportive parents, who do much to enrich the life of the school by reading to children, organising book bags, helping on our many educational visits and raising funds through the St Bede Home School Association.


Please enjoy looking around the website, including the governors pages where you can find out more about who we are, what we do and how you can become involved.


Best wishes

David Derbyshire

Chair of Governors






David Derbyshire - Co -Opted Governor

From: 24/06/2015

To: 23/06/2019


Laura Clarke - Co-Opted Governor

From: 23/11/2016

To: 24/11/2020


Helen Hardy - Co-Opted Governor

From; 22/03/2017

To: 21/03/2021


Philip Chessum - Co-Opted Governor

From: 24/01/2018

To: 24/01/2022


Marianne Pieterse- Co-Opted Governor

From: 24/01/2018

To: 24/01/2022


Cliff Bannister - Foundation Governor

From: 22/01/2010



Jane Bessey - Foundation Governor

From: 01/03/2015

To: 28/02/2018


John Purver - Foundation Governor

From: 06/12/2016

To: 06/12/2020


Sarah Duck - Headteacher

From: 24/06/2015

To: 09/12/2021


Kathryn Rodgers - Staff Governor

From: 26/01/2016

To: 25/01/2020


Judy Courtney - LEA Governor

From: 01/03/2016

To: 29/02/2020


Andy Carlisle- Parent Governor

From: 01/09/2014

To: 31/08/2018


Christopher Poulter - Parent Governor

From: 28/04/2017

To: 29/04/2021


Paul Ratcliffe - Parent Governor

From: 28/04/2017

To: 29/04/2021


Emma Turrell - Parent Governor

From 28/04/2017

To: 29/04/2021










Governors Terms of Reference

Governors Code of Conduct

Annual reports from the Governing Body
We've had 6 5 4 8 2 Visitors